2016-07-21 / Election News

No Primary Contests in Newport

September Legislative Matches in Middletown
By Barry Bridges

With five declared candidates for Newport School Committee not gathering the 100 required voter signatures to move their names to this fall’s ballot, there will be no need for a September primary to narrow down the slate.

Although 18 candidates initially filed the necessary paperwork to begin the process of getting their names on the ballot, including all seven incumbents, several did not take the next step of securing signatures to complete their nomination papers by the deadline on Friday, July 15: Timothy Donnelly, 37, 40 Dudley Ave.; David Eikeland, 43, 35 Wellington Ave.; Francis D. Landry Jr., 63, 9 Kempsen St.; Mari C. O’Sullivan, 60, 26 Stockholm St.; and Robert J. Pinheiro, 51, 6 Narragansett Ave. are out of the running.

That leaves 13 candidates seeking the seven available School Committee seats, not enough to trigger a primary contest.

Assuming all of their gathered signatures are verified, all present incumbents will be on November’s ballot: Rebecca Bolan, 60, 4 Channing St.; David R. Carlin III, 46, 3 Rose St.; Sandra J. Flowers, 72, 16 Keeher Ave.; Jo Eva Gaines, 79, 227 Eustis Ave.; David C. Hanos, 46, 133 Van Zandt Ave.; Robert J. Leary, 68, 541 Bellevue Ave., Sunny Lea Cottage; and Kathleen Silvia, 70, 139 Van Zandt Ave.

The field of challengers has been reduced to six: Raymond E. Gomes, 51, 543 Spring St.; Adrienne Clemente Haylor, 70, 72 Warner St.; Jennifer E. Jackson, 40, 38 Dudley Ave.; Henry “Hank” Kniskern, 69, 41 Kay St.; Thomas S. Phelan, 63, 75 Old Fort Road; and Stephen B. Turcotte, 51, 125 Old Fort Road.

Also at the Nov. 8 general election, seven candidates will be seeking the four available at-large seats on the Newport City Council, including incumbents John Florez, 45, 11 Roseneath Ave.; Justin S. McLaughlin, 72, 3 Kay Terrace; and Jeanne-Marie Napolitano, 66, 34 Malbone Road. Councilor Naomi Neville announced in June that she would not seek re-election.

Challengers mounting a councilor at-large bid are Jamie Bova, 26, 19 Russell Ave.; Claude Andrews Lavarre, 73, 15 Willow St.; Kimberly L. Shute, 45, 5 Beacon Court; and Henry Francis Winthrop, 66, 49 Bateman Ave.

Benjamin S. Kessler, 27, 22 Farewell St., had filed a declaration of candidacy for an at-large seat, but canvassing authorities told Newport This Week that he did not secure enough qualifying signatures to appear on the ballot.

The First Ward will see a November contest between incumbent Marco T. Camacho, 38, 55 Evarts St., and challenger Susan D. Taylor, 65, 27 Willow St.

Incumbent Lynn Underwood Ceglie, 55, 36 Tilden Ave., is running unopposed for the Second Ward seat. Similarly, incumbent Kathryn Leonard, 70, 37 Castle Hill Ave., will not face a challenger in the Third Ward.


In Middletown, although a September primary will not be required for local council and School Committee seats, Senate District 12 voters will nonetheless go to the polls on primary day to select the Republican candidate, with Richard Rom, 63, 27 Cornell Road, Tiverton, and Amy Veri, 34, 120 West Main Road, Little Compton, facing off. The victor will go up against incumbent Democrat Louis P. DiPalma in November’s general election.

Middletown residents in House District 72 will be asked to choose the Democratic candidate in the Sept. 13 primary, as both James J. Cawley, 50, 1247 E. Main Road, Portsmouth and Linda D. Finn, 56, 351 Compton View Drive, Middletown, are vying for the opportunity to face Republican Kenneth Mendonca in November. Incumbent Daniel Reilly, of Portsmouth, decided not to seek re-election in 2016.

Return to top