2018-05-10 / Around Town


Photo by Kirby Varacalli Photo by Kirby Varacalli

Onne van der Wal Onne van der Wal

Skipper: Bouwe Bekking NETHERLANDS

No one has sailed more miles in the VOR than Team Brunel skipper Bouwe Bekking, who is making his eighth attempt at winning the trophy. Bekking made his first appearance in the event in 1985-86 as a crew member on Phillips Innovator. Three years ago, he skippered Team Brunel to a second-place finish.

Brian Carlin/VOR Brian Carlin/VOR TEAM AKZONOBEL

Skipper: Simeon Tienpont NETHERLANDS

This new Dutch team is competing for the first time in the VOR and was the first boat to enter the 2017-18 edition. It is led by skipper and watch captain Simeon Tienpont, who has twice won the America’s Cup and has participated in two previous Volvo Ocean Races.

Ainhoa Sanchez/VOR Ainhoa Sanchez/VOR

Skipper: Charles Caudrelier CHINA

With French skipper Charles Caudrelier at the helm, the Chinese-backed Dongfeng Race Team returns to the VOR after finishing third in 2015. The team, which went from underdog to serious contender in a matter of months, includes a mix of Chinese sailors and the world’s finest off-shore racers.

Photo by Onne van der Wal Photo by Onne van der Wal VESTAS 11th HOUR RACING

Skipper: Charlie Enright | USA

Newport’s local team, with sailors Charlie Enright and Nick Dana aboard, opened the VOR in grand style by winning Leg 1. Enright is competing in his second straight VOR; he skippered Team Alvimedica in 2014-15. Newport’s Dana, the boat captain, is in his fourth VOR, but only his second on the water.

Jesus Renedo/VOR Jesus Renedo/VOR

Skipper: David Witt | CHINA

The first ever entry from Hong Kong is skippered by Australian David Witt, an experienced sailor making his first VOR appearance in 20 years. Scallywag won Leg 4 in a historic triumph that finished in its homeport of Hong Kong.

Onne van der Wal Onne van der Wal MAPFRE

Skipper: Xabi Fernandez SPAIN

No boat has performed more consistently than the Spanish-sponsored Mapfre, which was the first vessel to sail into Newport this week. Skipper Xabi Fernandez has assembled a multinational squad brimming with Olympic gold medalists and America’s Cup winners.

Ainhoa Sanchez/VOR Ainhoa Sanchez/VOR

Skipper: Dee Caffari | ENGLAND

Led by Great Britain’s Dee Caffari, Turn the Tide on Plastic features a multinational crew that is 50-50 male-female. Caffari, one of the world’s most accomplished sailors, is making her VOR debut as skipper, although she competed in the 2014-15 race as part of the all-female Team SCA.

Return to top